H.E. Nana Akufo-Addo

President of the republic of Ghana

Nana Addo Dankwa Akufo-Addo  born 29 March 1944) is a Ghanaian politician who has served as the president of Ghana since 7 January 2017.[2][3] In 2020, he was re-elected for his second term, which will end on January 6, 2025.[4][5] Akufo-Addo previously served as Attorney General from 2001 to 2003 and as Minister for Foreign Affairs from 2003 to 2007 under the Kufuor-led administration.[6] He is currently serving his second term as the chairman of the Economic Community of West African States (ECOWAS).[7]

Akufo-Addo first ran for president in 2008 and again in 2012, both times as the candidate of the New Patriotic Party (NPP). He lost on both occasions to National Democratic Congress’ candidates: John Evans Atta Mills in 2008 and John Dramani Mahama in 2012. After the 2012 general elections, he refused to concede and proceeded to court to challenge the electoral results, but the Supreme Court of Ghana affirmed Mahama’s victory.[8]

He was chosen as the presidential candidate of the New Patriotic Party for a third time for the 2016 general elections, and this time, he defeated incumbent Mahama in the first round (winning with 53.85% of the votes), which marked the first time in a Ghanaian presidential election that an opposition candidate won a majority outright in the first round.[9] It was also the first time that an opposition candidate had unseated an incumbent president.